Daily Archives: January 19, 2011

Golden Globes Fashion Bloopers

The Golden Globes – for those who have just landed from Mars – is a film and TV awards show held annually in Hollywood. This year’s function attracted just a little fewer than 17 million viewers to the NBC network. To think that with such large audiences tuning in year after year all celebs would love to dress up like Katherine Zeta Jones. But (siiigh!) that is not to happen! Thanks heavens actually or at whose expense would I have so much fun?

Here are a few celebs that seemed to have come dressed up for the Golden Globes a little worse than host Ricky Gervais’ humor while conducting the ceremony.

Hayley Atwell:

Is it just me or does her dress look like it’s zipped up front the front and some of her lacy lingerie got stuck wham in the centre of it? Now Hayley is so beautiful, you’d think she could carry anything off – even something picked up from my 65 year old grandmother’s tailor but who would’ve thought that she actually did pick up the outfit from my Nana’s tailor. I swear my grandma has something like this and I know she picked up the outfit especially for funerals.

 

 

 

Jacki Weaver:

I bet Jacki Weaver is thinking, “So basically no one knows who I am anyway. Maybe the sea weeds and octopus shaped creatures on my dress may grab a little attention.” Really Jacki, silver earrings, black open toed shoes (which by the way seem to the only saving grace here) and my 4 year old niece’s pink hair clip on your hand really doesn’t seem to be working much for you.

 

 

 

 

 

Fergie:

Not a bad dress if you ask me, if you can excuse the fact that it seems two sizes too small for her. It would also help if Fergie decided to comb her hair once, just once!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bryce:

This was her after party dress. I must remember to use this pic of Bryce the next time I’m writing tips about how not to have an overdose of cheap accessories. I think her dress is almost passable if only we could actually get a bit of a peek below all than chain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Emily Blunt

I do have slightly mixed feelings for this dress. The more I look at it, the more I feel like I’m being transferred to fairy tale land with goblins and elves and pretty little fairies. At the same time, I also feel that the outfit slightly resembles a lot of bubble gum and strangely the lower part of her dress takes me back to when I was 5 years old and danced all over the house in my pink tutu. Then again, I feel like thank heavens she wore her petticoat below all that lace. Hmmmm!! I’m confused… very confused!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bryce Dallas Howard

Yep!! I left this one for the end! I just had to. I’m sorry if I’ve scarred you for life with this rather ‘Vampirish I’m going to burst into flames’ dress but I had to share my sorrow. Yes, it does seem to have a tiny inspiration form Cher and Madonna but then again which pointy undergarment dress does not remind you of the latter?